Skip Navigation
HCC Main Campus
10901 Little Patuxent Parkway
Columbia MD, 21044
Laurel College Center
312 Marshall Avenue, Suite 205
Laurel, MD 20707
Gateway Business Training Center
6751 Columbia Gateway Drive
Columbia MD, 21046
Take a Virtual Tour
Take an interactive look at HCC's campus

Board of Trustees

Leadership. Vision. Commitment.

The seven-member Howard Community College Board of Trustees, appointed by the governor for six-year terms, is the college's legal governing body. In their role, the trustees have oversight of the college president and adopt a set of key performance indicators, (previously known as core ends) through which the operation of the college is directed. 

Feli Sola-Carter
Felícita Solá-Carter, Chair

Felícita Solá-Carter was appointed to the Howard Community College Board of Trustees for a term through June 2020.  She currently serves as the board’s vice chairperson, as well as chairs the Legislative and Community Relations Committee of the board of trustees. Ms.Solá-Carter's Bio

Term: April 2016 - June 2020

Chris Marasco
Christopher G. Marasco, Vice Chair

Christopher Marasco was appointed to the Howard Community College (HCC) board of trustees in 2017 for a six-year term ending in 2023.  Mr. Marasco is a senior vice president with Revere Bank. Before joining Revere Bank, he held the position of senior vice president, relationship manager from 2004 to 2018 for Howard Bank. Mr Marasco's Bio

Term: July 2017 - June 2023

Kevin Doyle
Kevin J. Doyle

Kevin Doyle was appointed to the Howard Community College Board of Trustees in 2007 for a six-year term and has been reappointed for a second term through 2019.  He has served previously as the board’s chair, vice chair, and chair of both the board’s legislative and community relations committee and audit and finance committee, and currently serves as the chair of the board of trustees and the audit and finance committee for fiscal year 2019.  Mr Doyle's Bio

Term: July 2013 - June 2019

Steve Joss
Steven A. Joss

Steven Joss was appointed to the board of trustees for a six-year term ending in 2022.  Mr. Joss has been president of The Vertical Connection since he and his wife, Kathy, founded their family-owned business in 1977.  The Vertical Connection has served the home interior needs of Howard County residents for 40 years.  Mr Joss' Bio

Term: July 2016 - June 2022


Kevin Schmidt
Kevin F. Schmidt

Kevin Schmidt will serve on the board of trustees through June 2019. Mr. Schmidt is the vice president of government relations for Smiths Group, a leader in the application of advanced technologies that deliver products and services for security and inspection, medical, energy, communications, and engineered components markets.  Mr. Schmidt's Bio

Term: April 2015 - June 2019


Frank Turner
Frank S. Turner

Frank S. Turner was appointed by the governor to serve a six-year term, ending June 2024.  Mr. Turner recently retired from the Maryland House of Delegates, having served from 1995 to 2019. During his tenure as delegate, he held many leadership roles including vice chair of the Ways and Means Committee, chair of the Howard County Delegation, vice chair of the Education and Economic Development Subcommittee of the Appropriations Committee, and House Chair of the Joint Committee on Gaming Oversight.  Mr. Turner's Bio

Term: April 2019 - June 2024



Term:   - June 2021

Kate Hetherington
Dr. Kathleen B. Hetherington, Secretary/Treasurer

Dr. Kathleen Hetherington, president of Howard Community College (HCC), has dedicated her career in higher education to advancing the mission of community colleges. With more than 40 years of progressively responsible community college leadership experience, Dr. Hetherington is the fourth president of Howard Community College (HCC) and the first to be a community college graduate.  President Hetherington's Bio

President, Howard Community College

Giving makes a difference! Your support helps students along their pathways to success.