Skip Navigation
Admissions & Enrollment
Home > About HCC > Organizational Leadership > Board of Trustees > Trustees' Bios > Ms. Roberta E. Dillow

Ms. Roberta E. Dillow

Roberta (Bobbie) Dillow began her appointment with the Howard Community College Board of Trustees in July 2002, and was re-appointed to a second term that runs through 2014.  She has served as the chair and vice chair of the board and also as the board’s liaison to the Maryland Association of Community Colleges Board.  Bobbie spent the majority of her career with Baltimore Gas and Electric Company (BGE), which she joined in 1961 and at the time of her retirement in 1998, held the position of executive director-economic development.  In this capacity, Ms. Dillow was responsible for liaison activities between BGE and state and local economic development officials.  Following her retirement from BGE, she was an independent consultant in the communications/marketing field until 2010.

Among the many civic activities that have brought her a reputation for community leadership were service as first vice president of the Girl Scouts of Central Maryland, for which she received the Maryland Distinguished Woman Award, and president of the Greater Howard County Chamber of Commerce.  Ms. Dillow has also served on numerous other non-profit Boards in Howard County as well as statewide.  In addition to the Howard Community College Board of Trustees, she serves on the boards of the Center for Career Changers to the Classroom, Carroll Lutheran Village, and Carroll Lutheran School.

Ms. Dillow is a graduate of the University of Maryland, with a B.S. degree in management.  She has completed professional training in Federal Government Operations at the Brookings Institution as well as the Public Affairs Institute, Boston College’s Community Relations Institute, and Leadership Maryland.  Ms. Dillow was selected as Maryland’s Top 100 Women in 1998, 2006 and 2013; as a third-time recipient of this honor, she was inducted into the Circle of Excellence.  Ms. Dillow also is a 2006 inductee in the Howard County Women’s Hall of Fame.