Skip Navigation
Howard Community College LogoHCCTV
Branding Photo for HCCTV
Visitors and Community >> HCC-TV >> Programming Schedule >> America's National Monuments
America's National Monuments

In 1906, President Teddy Roosevelt created the nation's first National Monument designation. The purpose of this designation was to preserve for all Americans significant pieces of the country's history, ecology, geology and beauty for all Americans. All National Monuments are designated by U.S. Presidents and are chosen as their personal memorials of those most special parts of this great country . . . areas that they see a need to protect, over all others. Some are big. Some are small. Some National Monuments garner large budgets and staff. Others, next to none. America's National Monuments tell the story of the nation's past and present glory. In Legacy of the Great Plains we will visit the 10 monuments associated with America once vast grasslands.

Join our tour of America's Great Plains National Monuments shot in high definition and presented by Bo Svenson.

Monuments Visited:
- Alibates Flint Quarries National Monument - Texas 
- Capulin Volcano National Monument - New Mexico 
- Fort Union National Monument - New Mexico 
- Pipestone National Monument - Minnesota 
- Little Bighorn National Monument - Montana 
- Agate Fossil Beds National Monument - Nebraska 
- Jewel Cave National Monument - South Dakota 
- Devil's Tower National Monument - Wyoming 
- Scott's Bluff National Monument - Nebraska 
- Homestead National Monument - Nebraska 

If you would like to watch Great American Authors, please see our schedule for showtimes.